Don't worry, be happy

Happily married mum of one, getting through life the best way I know how .

5 things I said I’d never do as a new parent

on February 9, 2015

When I found out I was pregnant with Hollie I swore there were a few things I wouldn’t do, however I realised soon after she was born that this sometimes isn’t possible. So here are 5 things I said I wouldn’t do but failed miserably at haha.

1. I said I would never co-sleep with Hollie, however after the 2nd week of nearly no sleep I feel asleep with hollie in bed with us and it was the best nights sleep in the whole 2 weeks of her being here and so I continued to co-sleep (safely of course) for the next 3 months.

2. I said I wouldn’t use baby jars and would make all my own baby food, but in reality it is sometimes so much easier to use them and hollie loved them as well.

3. I said I would only use positive ways to discapline my child (that’s not kind, please don’t do that) however one the tantrums started this soon went out of the window and the N word ‘naughty’ soon surfaced.

4. I always said I would only allow hollie to watch 30 minutes of T.V a day, but sometimes whenย  I really need to get something done watching T.V is the only thing that keeps her occupied.

5. And finally I didn’t want Hollie to eat fast food but in all honesty how can I stop her from the delights of a happy meal every so often!

I hope you enjoyed reading.

Laura

The List
5 responses to “5 things I said I’d never do as a new parent

  1. Jules says:

    It is hard to be realistic before you’ve had kids. I thought some of the same things above though I still have them in the back of my mind to keep trying. As long as they are content at the end of the day, learning and smiling, we’ve done ok ๐Ÿ˜‰ #thelist

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I had so many! Especially the no fast food or TV. This second baby….well I don’t have rules any more!

    Like

  3. Yep to most of them! So many expectations and the reality is vastly different! Thanks for linking up to #TheList x

    Like

  4. Oh gosh I’ve so been there and done that…I’m very guilty of number 1!xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

